Invisible Kate

Crazy, random, dreaming, tough, dark, wandering, invisible, introvert, feminist, imaginative, strong, determined, insane, me.


Young
Old
About me
Links
Profile
Gbook
eMail
Cast
Quizzes
Reviews
Design
Dland

Seeing- Monty Python
Hearing- Master of Puppets
Wishing- I didnt have the surgery
Feeling- The current mood of invisible_k8@hotmail.com at www.imood.com

September 2003

S

M

T

W

T

F

S

1 2 3 4 5 6
7 8 9 10 11 12 13
14 15 16 17 18 19 20
21 22 23 24 25 26 27
28 29 30



random entry?


<~8:12 pm on Monday, Jun. 16, 2003~>

The doctors and teeth's evil conspiracy to make me feel miserable

I am sitting here in my mom's bedroom, having four teeth less than yesterday and feeling completely crappy.

Well no, I guess its not that bad anymore. This morning was a living hell but now I'm feeling better that i can use a computer, watch tv and have the pain in the back of my mouth and my throat numbed. I am still kinda tired and so my typing is a tad off. The upside to this is that I'm not hungry at all. Which is odd because the only thing i ate today was a bowl of spaghettios and a couple spoonfuls of pudding and yogurt.

It started out with me going to the hospital at 6:30 this morning. Once admitted I hadta change into one of those ugly uncomfy hospital gowns, and got asked the same questions over and over by about 6 different doctors and nurses.... when did you last eat, are you allergic to anything. I should just make a big sign and carry it with me there. The pre-surgery consisted of a physical, blood test, and iv connection. I hate getting blood taken. The only thing i can stand is getting my blood pressure taken, thats actually kinda fun. But feeling sick because they took a lot of blood from you and having a tube stick out of your hand is sickening. It took about forever to actually get out of the patient preparation and waiting area. The actual testing of my blood took awhile. Finally I had to leave, feeling overly nervous. I was wheeled in the plastic feeling/fake mattress to some creepy cold room where 80 people proceeded to move me and attach monitors to me, i stopped caring about feeling indecent, but they almost took the whole gown off, grrr. Perverts.

After waiting too long I was given a cold mask to breathe into, and for the short time i had the anesthesia I started feeling sick, and then blacked out.

I cant remember what i dreamed about but coming too me wish i could go back to sleep. My throat was sore, my mouth was throbbing, there was gauze poking me in my mouth and tubes sticking out of my nose and hand,. I had a freezing cold ice bag and towel around my face and insanely loud beeping going off every second. And there was nothing i could do about it. I practically started crying but all the stuff all over me mad that hard. I ended up just being able to make indistinct coughing/sobbing sounds which only hurt my throat more. I just wanted to go back to sleep, dreaming or even nightmares were so much of a better option than waiting there all alone for what seemed like forever. I could barely even open my eyes, but i guess that was for the better, what was there to look at. After awhile I tried moving a tad but even that seemed futile. After some time of me trying to be noticed my rough sobbing. Finally the nurse stops her mindless gossiping and asks how I felt on a scale from one to ten. I dont know what i was thinking but I could barely talk and sorta mumbled I dont know. So she said in the middle? and i nodded, not knowing what else to do. She gave me some medicine in my iv and that helped a good bit, kind of helped me relax. Once i could talk a little better and think of an answer, she came back and asked me how i was doing. I said 5 now, but before it was 8. Maybe I needed two things to compare.

I waited there for about an hour until I was awake enough to function. I was still feeling really awful, the good medicine wore off after about 15 minutes and i only got 2 or 3 doses. And the stupid blood pressure thing kept taking my pressure every 5 minutes, just when id start to feel almost ok.

But soon enough I got to basically fall out of the stretched onto a wheelchair. No better, but at least i got taken to see my mom.

I had to wait a lot longer there, just making sure i was ok and the effects of the anesthesia were wearing off. I also was made to have a couple spoonfuls of pudding to go with my pill, and water, which sucked because it killed to swallow. Once again the one thing i wanted most was a sleeping pill.

Finally I got wheeled out (by someone who went to Bonner) who was nice but made me talk far too much for my liking.

And just when I thought I was home free, Murphy's law comes into play.

Our car stalls in the middle of Baltimore pike just past the mall. We nearly escaped being rearended twice, going 20 mph on a 55 mph zone for several blocks. Wow, what a wonderful day. I was still feeling like shit, I just wanted to go home, but we had to wait in a random office parking lot on the side of the road til my dad came. 30 minutes later He came and switched cars. I dont know what he did to get the other car too work, i seriously didnt care at the time.

Finally I got home and basically just tried to rest in my moms room. I was in too much pain to sleep for awhile but eventually after giving up on tv and music i fell asleep for about 45 minutes. Figures I justtttt missed Rufo's call. And that I still havent talked to him, and its 8:45 at night, damnit. Urrrggggg.

After awhile the ice and lousanges (wow, sp?) and pain relievers worked to help me feel better, so I eventually tried watching tv. I was supposed to ice my cheeks on and off for 20 minutes, so the problem with tv was that id only get 20 minutes of anything at a time. I solved this by putting on boring stuff, muahahaha. And eventually my mom got me some different ice gel stuff that just sticks on. So the highlight of my day was when me and Georgie (the monkey Rufo brought me yesterday for good luck :~) ) watched Monty Python and the Holy Grail. Did indeed put me in a better mood, but after that not much has happened.

In fact, im probably boring you to tears by writing every little detail that happened today but it is giving me something to do when im not diving for the phone only to find its kieran again.

I guess I should be off, seeing as there is nothing else to say. Tata~

PS- Yes I do look like a chipmunk.

1 comments so far


Minus // Plus


Hot off the Press

Thursday, Jan. 06, 2005 - We few, we happy few, we band of brothers...

Sunday, Oct. 10, 2004 - in the stillness

Sunday, Mar. 28, 2004 - i was lonely for something i forgot about...

Friday, Mar. 12, 2004 - W. B. Yeats, "The Stolen Child"

Wednesday, Feb. 25, 2004 - day old martis gras beads