Invisible Kate

Crazy, random, dreaming, tough, dark, wandering, invisible, introvert, feminist, imaginative, strong, determined, insane, me.


Young
Old
About me
Links
Profile
Gbook
eMail
Cast
Quizzes
Reviews
Design
Dland

Seeing-
Hearing-
Wishing-
Feeling- The current mood of invisible_k8@hotmail.com at www.imood.com

September 2003

S

M

T

W

T

F

S

1 2 3 4 5 6
7 8 9 10 11 12 13
14 15 16 17 18 19 20
21 22 23 24 25 26 27
28 29 30



random entry?


<~6:53 pm on Monday, Feb. 17, 2003~>

blizzard of the century and snow as words

Well the storm of the century has hit and i am smug and warm inside my comfy little house smelling the yummyness of a slowly baking cake. Of course it wasnt always this way.

Yesterday was chaotic with different plans and some fresh new snow to go sledding in. I wanted to go with Tori and Sami and Anna to Glen Providence but Anna wasnt allowed to come. I was invited to sleep over tho and that offer I was glad to take up. At the time I went out we had probably gained bout 4 or 5 inches since the day before. The world was silenced as if the blanket muffled all sound in the area, and placed all vehicles into an enchanted sleep. I trudged downtown without a sled, dragging my feet over te crunchy snow. I was supposed to meet Tori and Sami and their friend Amelia at 1:30 or something but once again I was very late. Its not my fault I didnt know til one and it takes more than 25 minutes just to walk downtown, grr plushie.

The sledding wasnt too good, the hill was all powder and after a tad of sliding you'd everntually get stuck and have powder impale you in the face. It was fun for awhile but walking seemed twice as hard as normal and wasnt as fun. One time tori and I got closer to the bottom and we started sledding again and went out of control with snow flying up in my face. Warning to those who wish to go sledding. Do not sit in the front on a powdery snow day. This leads to blindness and possible injury. And since i am the klutzy fool that I am, this happened to me and i slammed full force into some kinda tree with a ka-thud. Now I thought i had killed my back or something since I couldnt shout and barely talk as i wished, my sounds that should've reverberated in the wood came out as barely a hoarse whisper. I couldnt move too well and just hadta lie in the stinging cold snow for a few minutes. Luckily I was fine, only had the wind knocked outta me pretty badly, i got up and continued to sled down the hill toward the creek.

After that we took a break from the mediocre sledding and wandered about the pond. Tori and I discoved that all you need to make a slush-frosted pond is some snow. It looked quite cool, just throw snow on top of a shallow creek and it ends up looking frozen.

After tiring of that, tori and i mutually decided to sprint across the pond hoping it would hold our weight, and this lead to a crazy writing and snow angel spree across the clean white surface. I flung myself down and made a snow angel, and then eventually everyone else did... which evolved into Sami writing "Sami loves Meg" and then we got into elvish and well of course that became singing piles of snow. It all makes perfect sense, doesnt it?

Well technically the singing pile of snow was me and sami getting entirely buried in snow out over the pond... but nonetheless we were singing piles of snow.

After tiring of that we ventured into the woods to walk to the waterfall near Broomall's lake. Its not too big but really cool looking, starting the creek on this side of the woods. We climbed up the side with many a struggle and near death situation. The view was beautiful and you could hang your feet over the edge dangling upon the top of a picturesque postcard from canada or some national park. Under the waterfall there was this beautiful array of icicles wound together twisted in and out in perfect abstract art. It was so beautiful... the intricateness someplace you might not expect it... I was so glad to have gone up and seen it and hung over the edge of the waterfalls side... staring down at it all. I was so mad i didnt have a camera but somehow amelia had one in her pocket and got a few shots.

Eventually we hadta go back since Amelia's gloves started to fail... i woulda stayed longer myself except for the fact that i had to get to Anna's eventually and my dad didnt wanna drive me when there was a buncha snow outside... so we hiked through the woods, tori and i turning spy like, diving over logs and mainly acting like psychos until we returned to the hill. Theres this wall on the side of the hill that had one picnic table leaning up against it like a slide and then a flat one connecting to it so it looked kinda like TT_ if you can imagine the t's to be a wall. Yeah cheap example, so what?!?? You make one then u ungrateful evilling. :P

Anyways as I was saying we stopped in our tracks finding a new ramp thing. It was kinda fun stuff tryin to stay on the tables the whole time but was crazy fun... Nearly demolished 3 sleds but twas still enjoyable. Especially when some snowboarders tried to go down the other side of the same wall and did a half faceplant. Muahahaha soo funny. Dont you love how caring and compassionate i am?

Anywho we eventually made it up the hill and started the long, even harder trudge home. This time i couldnt try to slide on my butt down state street (which surprisingly enough worked pretty well on the way over) Also the snow had accumulated quite a bit since we arrived and took more effort to get back home. Lo and behold what do we find at the edge of state street but the trolley at the end of the line. We, being just us, wanted to see if we could get a ride to monroe, just a few blocks down state st. We have all of about 1.75 since I brought four but then couldnt find it. Lack of pockets=bad. The scene unrolls something like this:

4 snowcovered and sled carrying girls walk sullenly across state st and up to the trolley. One knocks on the door and it opens up.
One of us: How much would it cost for us four to ride down to monroe?
Trolley driver dude: $2 each
One of us (sami i believe did most of the talking): Aww c'mon its like 2 blocks down how can you be asking for that much? You wouldnt want us to get hypothermia out here would you?
Trolley dude: well ok i guesss i could allow you all on for $1
We all look at each other, kind of a general attitude of how much u guys got?Trolley dude: How much do you have?
Sami: I think i have about 2 dollars for all of us.
Trolley dude: Just give me what you have and climb on.

And thats how we sweet talked the trolley driver into giving us a 1.75 ride down state street. Definitely saved us at least 20 minutes and a batch of shin splints. Gotta love it. Getting off he was entrapped in a echoing chorus of thank yous and you're the best and such... It was definitely pretty cool tho.

The rest of the walk home was pretty uneventful, once we got to 5th street i tried diving down the street on my sled. Stopping after 5 feet. Oh yes, i forgot to mention! I was evil and i took a sled that Tori had told me was abandoned there from last week. I wasnt paying attenion so hopefully shes right, yupsicle.

Anywho I found this really comfy pile of snow on the way back to winter street, near the former home of Berek! The flying trashcan. *cheesy superhero music is heard in the bg* ...erm, uh... yeah. So anyway it was really comfy and soft... I just kinda lied down on it cuz it was calling. It didnt seem like snow because my hands and everything ceased to be cold and i felt like i could almost fall asleep while tasting the snow on my tongue and listening to its song in the trees and on the wind. It was about this time that i wondered how so much chaos could come from a bunch of fluffy stuff falling from the sky. It does nothing but fly around in the air until it finds a resting place and then sits there, wait to be moved or melted or tossed up into the grey air again.

I love snowy days for their peacefulness. Its all so calm and comforting on a snowday. You could almost say its a quiet lonliness, but its not lonely. Its almost smug, as much as u can be outside in the frozen winterscape. There is a sense of unity brought about with all the snow linking everything together. Every snowflake may be different but they all connect, one touches another with touches another with could connect with one ages away...

I'm not exactly sure what that is trying to represent right now... possibly people, possibly something else... I am too tired to figure it all out.

After a quiet time of pondering I concluded it would not be good to fall asleep on a random snowdrift, for i might freeze to death in my sleep... or worse, be home to late to make it over to Anna's house to sleep over.

I believe I should update on that tomorrow or sometime later for my eyes once again are fluttering and i feel that my thoughts are fleeing into that dreamy, half-awake state already. These words seem not like they are mine, they come and then my fingers are serving who they come from. To think requires energy but i sit here and yet do not think. I disagree when some say that writing requires effort. It is thought turned into viewable pixel or ink or snow engravings. It just comes and flows and all is let out. Almost like a huge storm that comes and dumps 2 feet of fluffy goodness on a town out of anger and feeling and a sense of relief follows. Snow clouds come not because of low pressure systems and cloud accumulation of precipitation, it snows heavily when they feel like they have to let something out, let their thoughts breathe and become solid, become incorporated into life.

I fear i have almost begun to think. I must go to bed. Goodnite~

0 comments so far


Minus // Plus


Hot off the Press

Thursday, Jan. 06, 2005 - We few, we happy few, we band of brothers...

Sunday, Oct. 10, 2004 - in the stillness

Sunday, Mar. 28, 2004 - i was lonely for something i forgot about...

Friday, Mar. 12, 2004 - W. B. Yeats, "The Stolen Child"

Wednesday, Feb. 25, 2004 - day old martis gras beads